My “Challenge of 3” for Me and For You

DATE: 04/02/2009 11:28:44 AM

I don’t know if anyone out there is like me, but as a 38 year old working mom, I’m doing the best I can to stay current (and dare I say, ahead) on social media.  I know that if I don’t, there will be a younger, smarter person coming along behind me that will pass me by in my career.

I have been trying out several social media sites over the last year and love some (Twitter) and hated some (MySpace) and am currently having a love/hate relationship with some (Facebook). I am also the biggest fan of my google reader (reader.google.com) and I highly recommend it for busy parents.  My concern is that I am spending time with family, at work, and now with social media and I am losing some of my creative edge.

I started thinking about this idea of my “Challenge of 3” when I began getting numerous facebook requests that asked me for the Top 25 of this or of that.  It was ridiculous.  I decided to pare that down to Trisha’s Top 3 and challenge myself to stick to it.

You can help keep me in check because I am making my commitment here (in public) and will have to post how I’m doing against my goals.  They are simple, really.  They are:

  1. I will play my piano, not some digital keyboard, at least 15 minutes EVERY day.
  2. I will read something non work related for at least 15 minutes every day.
  3. I will do at least one creative thing each day.

So, as background on the piano goal, I took 9 years of lessons as a child.  I am not a natural pianist meaning I cannot just hear a song and instinctively play.  However, after many years of lessons in classical music, I can read music and teach myself almost any song.  I just never EVER do it anymore.

The reading goal is one I need because I rarely read for fun anymore unless it’s something online.

The creativity goal is a good one for me because I love scrapbooking, cross stitch, drawing, painting, etc.  I just don’t make time to do it on a regular basis.

So- those are my personal goals for the month of April.  Let’s see how I do!  And, let me know if you do similar challenges for yourself.

p.s.  Today after the kids left for school, I played songs from the musical Rent on my piano.  It felt wonderful.

About Trish McFarlane

Trish is a practicing HR professional with over 15 years of experience in Big 4 public accounting, PR, and healthcare. She is also an international speaker. With expertise in leadership, employee relations, performance management, training & development, change management, social media, and innovation, Trish is able to capture readers and audiences with real-life examples of how leadership plays out in organizations. I am also a working mother of 7 year old twins with a great hubby and three dogs I adore. View all posts by Trish McFarlane

Leave a Reply

