Turning my friends into “art”

DATE: 04/05/2009 05:19:43 PM
—–

So, I’ve been dying to get outside and work on the new garden, but Mother Nature had a different plan for me.  It’s windy, cold, and rainy here today.  I decided to get out my scrapbook and art supplies and try to just sketch until I was inspired.

I kept thinking about some of my best friends from work and how much I love them.  They teach me something new every day.  They inspire me to do great work.  They are always there to pick me up and support me.  They’re awesome.  I began sketching each of them and came up with a card to each that honors them for being so special in my life.

The first one I made was for Patty.  Patty is sensible and a great listener.  She is VERY stable and just understands everything about me.  I used cardstock, XL Ghost shapes by Heidi Swapp, Archiver’s mini box of buttons, and colored art chalk.

Next, I created one for Hannah.  Hannah is the most upbeat person you can know.  She is a team builder and always tells me her honest opinion.  I know that Hannah makes me a more caring person.  For her card, I used cardstock, colored art chalk, punch out flowers by K & Company, and Adornaments ribbon.

Here’s the one I created for Georgia.  She is like a teddy bear- always there, reliable, gives great hugs, and has an infectious smile.  Oh, and she’s incredibly smart.  I used cardstock and colored art chalk.

About Trish McFarlane

Trish is a practicing HR professional with over 15 years of experience in Big 4 public accounting, PR, and healthcare. She is also an international speaker. With expertise in leadership, employee relations, performance management, training & development, change management, social media, and innovation, Trish is able to capture readers and audiences with real-life examples of how leadership plays out in organizations. I am also a working mother of 7 year old twins with a great hubby and three dogs I adore. View all posts by Trish McFarlane

Leave a Reply

