The Best Punishment for Kids (according to a 5 year old)

DATE: 04/09/2009 05:29:30 AM

to spank or not to spank.

Now, don’t worry.  I’m not about to jump on any soapbox to talk about my opinions on how best to discipline children.  I know some parents spank their kids and some don’t.  I’m not personally opposed to it, but I just do not do it with my kids.  Not that they may not get one someday in the future, but I’ve always found other methods that work effectively for us.  One kernel of wisdom I did learn quickly since I had twins was that what works for one child does not necessarily work for the other child (not just with discipline, but with everything in general).

So, why am I even thinking about this?  I had an interesting conversation with my mom about someone she knows who believes in spanking their kids with a wooden spoon.  Now, I TOTALLY disagree with that approach.  However, this family says that it’s better because the kids disassociate the parent from the spanking because it is not being done with their hand.  WHAT?!?  That is crap.  Hit a kid, regardless of what you use, and they know it.  And, they associate it with you.

So, I asked my 5 year old son “Jack, if mommy really needed to spank you, would you rather I use my hand, or a wooden spoon?”  After looking at me for a moment in confusion (because he never gets spanked) he said, “I think you should just use a soft blankie Mom.”

So, there you have it.  Jack thinks the most effective way to punish is spanking with a soft blankie!  I think he may be on to something.  ha ha


More soon….

About Trish McFarlane

Trish is a practicing HR professional with over 15 years of experience in Big 4 public accounting, PR, and healthcare. She is also an international speaker. With expertise in leadership, employee relations, performance management, training & development, change management, social media, and innovation, Trish is able to capture readers and audiences with real-life examples of how leadership plays out in organizations. I am also a working mother of 7 year old twins with a great hubby and three dogs I adore. View all posts by Trish McFarlane

One response to “The Best Punishment for Kids (according to a 5 year old)

  • thecrabbucket

    Excellent suggestion, Jack. And spanking…ugh. Great post though. I am currently working really hard at finding spank alternatives. I have only done it once and I am happy to learn any other methods that may work better.

Leave a Reply

