Go Team Red! March for Babies 2009

DATE: 04/27/2009 09:21:26 AM

We did it!  Team Red (aka Team Jack & Lili) participated in the March of Dimes “March for Babies” yesterday in St. Louis.  Our 5K walk/run was held in Forest Park near the Muny outdoor theater.  

Dan and I arrived early at 6:00 am to help set up the Family Team area.  Every year, I am the chair or the Family Teams and we wanted to make this year’s Family Team tent the best it has ever been.  We incorporated areas for stroller decorating, face painting, a magician, baby changing area, and coloring area for the Garden of Hope. 

We wandered around a bit after set up and stopped by registration so Dan could register for the 5K run. He has been training for several months for the run and was anxious to participate.  We headed to the starting line and that was when the rest of our walk team showed up.  My dad, mom, sister Karen, her friend Rob, cousin Shelly, and Jack & Carleigh cheered Dan on as the siren sounded.

While Dan was running, we headed to work on our handprint flowers for the Garden of Hope.  We were lucky to have donated supplies so that families could design a handprint flower in honor of the person or people they were walking for.

I don’t know what the final count was for the walk, but the area was packed.  We had gorgeous, sunny weather and it wasn’t too hot.  We waited for Dan to get back from the run (he was SO tired) and headed for the start line once more.  Dan cooled down a few minutes and was ready to head out with the family on the walk.

I have to say that I am SO proud of my whole family.  They are always there for me, to support me and my goal of helping babies.  We know that we would not have our lovie babies- Jack and Carleigh- if it weren’t for the research done by March of Dimes.    I am also SO thankful for all my friends who supported me.  I will never be able to adequately thank them for supporting my goals.

For anyone still wanting to donate to help save babies, please visit our Team Jack & Lili site. Thanks to all!

About Trish McFarlane

Trish is a practicing HR professional with over 15 years of experience in Big 4 public accounting, PR, and healthcare. She is also an international speaker. With expertise in leadership, employee relations, performance management, training & development, change management, social media, and innovation, Trish is able to capture readers and audiences with real-life examples of how leadership plays out in organizations. I am also a working mother of 7 year old twins with a great hubby and three dogs I adore. View all posts by Trish McFarlane

Leave a Reply

