I’ve Got The Working Mom Blues

DATE: 05/07/2009 09:55:55 AM

It’s been a long week.

Don’t get me wrong.  It’s been a very exciting week from a work standpoint.  I have been in Washington DC all week on a business trip and I have had a jam packed schedule meeting with the offices I support.  There is no greater feeling for me than being able to connect with the employees and office leaders.  I spent many hours strategizing with them.  It was energizing.

Now to the hard part.   I missed my babies.  Even though they are five years old, they still need me.  And it gets harder because now they can tell me how much they miss me.  It just breaks my heart.  My hubby has been doing a great job all week with them trying to keep them occupied.  And, I left them a special message that was waiting for them on the first morning I was gone.  I also arranged to have a package delivered to them while I’m away.  Of course, I also bring them little gifts.

This time, I ran by the White House Visitor’s Center and picked up some presidential memoribilia and White House Ornaments for them.  I think they will really love them.  I also call them morning and night.  They love hearing about where I am because they love Barack Obama.  I am staying just two blocks from the White House so they keep asking me if I can stop by Barack’s house.  It’s funny that they don’t understand that we are not personal friends.

So, today I head home.  It will be the sweetest cure for my blues.  Can’t wait to hug my babies!

COMMENT:
AUTHOR: imjustagoyle
EMAIL: robin@jobshouts.com
IP: 97.106.22.118
URL: http://imjustagoyle.com
DATE: 05/07/2009 10:05:58 AM
A couple of years ago I was in much the same situation. I traveled for work fairly often and while I was excited to travel (I love to do so) it was so hard leaving the babies behind.

The smiles on their faces when you get home will be priceless! 🙂

About Trish McFarlane

Trish is a practicing HR professional with over 15 years of experience in Big 4 public accounting, PR, and healthcare. She is also an international speaker. With expertise in leadership, employee relations, performance management, training & development, change management, social media, and innovation, Trish is able to capture readers and audiences with real-life examples of how leadership plays out in organizations. I am also a working mother of 7 year old twins with a great hubby and three dogs I adore. View all posts by Trish McFarlane

Leave a Reply

